The Advent of Santa

December 17, 2010 at 3:56 pm | Posted in knitting | 7 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today I show you 17 Santas from my collection … Christmas is drawing quite near indeed.  It snowed again, lightly, this morning and things are looking very lovely outside our many windows.  My favorite sight is looking outside the dining room windows and seeing the barn in the snow.

It looks most Christmasey to me, for some reason.

Santa, Day 16 is one my husband purchased for me in the Adirondack mountains, at the Adirondack museum, on a fall vacation we took a couple of years ago.

This Santa also reminds us of our cottage and our times in the canoe there, on the river … treasured memories accumulating in our marriage of nearly five years.

Santa Day 17 is one we bought on the same trip, up in a little gift shop in Clayton, up in the Thousand Islands.  He is a fisherman Santa and we bought him to honor my brother, Dan, who passed away the year before my husband and I met and married.  Dan loved fishing, and when I saw this Santa I knew he had to be in my collection.  When I look at the smile on his face, I think of Dan and his love of both fishing and Christmas.

Now on to some business … I have used a random number generator to select the ten free pattern winners for this week.

Five winners from the comments left on my previous post are:

Sue, Robin, Lisa, Leslie, and Elizabeth. I have your email addresses from the comments, so I will send an email to each of you asking for your knitting pattern choice and get it off to you a little later today.

Then, there are five from those who left comments at my Treasury at Etsy:

2vintagedivas, tchvalentine, Candycej, SJKass, tdeane

I will contact this group of winners via convos as Etsy.

Thank you to everyone who participated in this comment driven contest. The feedback you left regarding my son’s new Etsy store were very helpful and encouraging to him. I can’t thank you enough for taking the time to look through his products and say a little something about what you thought.

Hope you all have a beautiful day today and enjoy your own advent … what ever the nature of it may be.

~firefly

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m thrilled to pieces to see that I’ve won one of your knitting patterns! I have several and am currently working on the NY Knucks. I have to say your directions are very clear and they are knitting up beautifully. Thank you so much for the free pattern; the hardest part is trying to decide which one to choose!

  2. How wonderful that I have found your blog! And the Santa collection you have is one after my own heart. I too have been collecting the jolly ole man but for 35 years now. Boy do I have a load of them. But you know…. I love each one and know the story of where, who and when I acquired him. I keep some out in an old cabinet all year. No two are alike in facial expression or in garb, but none the less they all share the magic of the season in the same way. I now have 2 tubs of Santa’s in the attic and had a tough time deciding who would be displayed this year. My first Santa was from my 2nd grade teacher and the last was just last year. I have my eye on one for this year, but am waiting to see just which one speaks my name!!!!!

  3. Merry Christmas dear firefly! May you and your family enjoy a beautiful and joyous Christmas Day!

    Smiles♥

    Beverly

    • And the same to you dear Beverly. I am sorry I didn’t see this sooner, but Merry Christmas to you and yours. I hope your Christmas Day was wonderful, and that this Christmas week is full of love and warmth.

      “See” you in the new year!

      Hugs, Jackie

  4. Oh such a wonderful view from your window. And the santas are beautiful.

  5. I am soooo thrilled to have won your gorgeous patterns!!! Thank you!!!
    Hugs,
    Margaret


Leave a Reply

Get a free blog at WordPress.com | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers