Projects

August 3, 2006 at 2:50 pm | Posted in knitting | 4 Comments

One Christmas StockingMy favorite thing to knit is Christmas stockings … they’re fun like socks, only you don’t have to make two. I can make one stocking over a weekend, and they made great Christmas gifts for everyone in my family one year. Now what I want to do is collect miniature antique toys and antique “reindeer” bells and make little dangly things that will hang from each hand knit stocking.

However, right now I am working on a pair of socks using a soft, salmon colored Debbie Bliss baby cashmerino yarn accented with cream Sirdar Snuggly Poppet Fleece Effect on the ankles. One is complete, just started the other. I think it will be very cozy to knit here on this farm through the fall and winter. We are close to Lake Ontario, which creates a micro-climate in this area. I am completely grateful to be out of LA, and looking forward to autumn in this beautiful place.

~firefly

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey, your blog is looking good. I have only been using wordpress for a little while too and I really like it. Once you get the hang of it, it becomes easy. Please contact me if you need a hand.
    I have also thought about making xmas stocking this year. I managed to get a book the other day on the bargain table for $5. Make sure you share your progress on the stockings this year, I would love to see how they turn out.

  2. Thanks for the words of encouragement and offer to lend a hand if needed. Nice to meet good people out here in the ether.

    I wish I had more photographs of all the stockings I made a couple of years ago for my family. Each was different; I think my favorite is one we call the sock monkey stocking which I gave my son. It is made to look very much like those work socks that sock monkeys are made of, but way oversized.

    One thing to know about hand knit Christmas stockings: it is best to think about lining them with fabric because otherwise when they are full of stuff on Xmas morning, they stretch to the floor practically. I’m going to line any I make in the future.

    I’ll figure out how to post photos as a part of the blog so I can show you a couple that I do have photos of.

    ~firefly

  3. That is a great looking stocking! What’s the pattern? I foresee some of these in my knitting future.

  4. It is from a book I bought at Amazon, “Christmas Stockings: 18 Holiday Treasures to Knit” (paperback, about $13). The stocking you saw on my blog was the “Snowy Night Gansey Stocking” from that book (page 10). I knitted it up in Bernat denimstyle yarn, in a cream color. The yarn is very soft and has a nice, somewhat irregular texture to it. I’ve knitted up several stockings using that pattern in solid color yarns, but then also played around with doing the decorative pattern stitches in contrasting colors, and maybe having the top “cuff” line in the same contrasting color. I made one for my father in blue, red, and cream with blue being the dominate color.

    I also make the foot a bit shorter than the pattern calls for, because I like the stubby, chubby look it creates.

    Hope this is helpful.

    ~firefly


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

