A pattern to share with you

September 13, 2006 at 2:12 pm | Posted in country living, crochet, family, free knitting patterns, knitting, yarn | 10 Comments

Gentle Waters Hand Knit ScarfThis is a soft, beautiful scarf my daughter designed and knit for me. She makes me such beautiful things, and I always love her taste in colors and textures. This is a classy scarf that doesn’t demand attention, and yet it does gently add a touch of calm style to whatever outfit I wear it with.

The day I first met my husband, I wore this scarf along with a cute little vintage, army fatigue colored jacket with sweet little vents in the back. I also wore a tissue t-shirt with a ballet scoop neck in the same blue as the scarf, but a few shades lighter and a pair of distressed vintage looking Abercrombie jeans. It was a very cute outfit (sorry, not meaning to brag). As I spent the day traveling on three planes, through four airports across 3,000 miles of America to meet him, my daughter’s scarf kept me calm and reminded me of her sweet love and support.

Gentle Waters Hand Knit Scarf CloseupI have named it the “Gentle Waters” scarf because the colors remind me of the gentle waters down at our little place on the river. Also, “gentle waters” is symbolic to me of this time in my life when I have stumbled upon beauty and sanctuary with a dear man I love.

You can find the pattern here for this precious and meaningful scarf … in hopes someone else’s daughter might make such a sweet gift of it that will bring good fortune to the mom as this one I feel did for me.

~firefly

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a beautiful story to go along with the scarf. I love the scarf, I just bookmarkedthe pattern

  2. What a lovely, calming scarf. Thank you!

  3. beautiful! i love the little detail that makes this simple scarf so charming. you are a lucky lady to have such a talented daughter!

  4. Gee, I wish my daughter knew how to knit.

  5. Beautiful scarf, beautiful story. Thank you for sharing both.

  6. What a lovely scarf. It sounds perfect for a scarf I’m thinking of for the Red Scarf Project. I scoed some lovely red cashmere at a really good price and I think this pattern will be wonderful in that yarn.

  7. I’d totally make that for my mom if she didn’t live in Florida! She’s not even going to my grandmother’s for Xmas this year. It’s a lovely pattern, I will have to think about who I would make it for 🙂
    xo
    amy

  8. I came here via your post to the knitting community on LiveJournal. What a beautiful scarf, and an even more beautiful story to go along with it!

    I wish I could make that for my mom, but she lives in Texas and doesn’t really wear scarves. Too bad. 😦

  9. What a beautiful scarf and story. I believe I may make this for my ISE 3 scarf pal (www.scarfexchange.blogspot.com) as well as the pattern I am currently working on. She is dealing with cancer and I believe she will love the scarf as well as the story behind the pattern. Thank you for sharing.

  10. ~firfly, thank you!

    I was surfing the net for a pattern for a nose warmer and came across your blog about your brother in hospital. What a moving story and yes, I cried. Such fond memories you have of him, it is beautiful. I then went on to have a look at the scarf your daughter knitted for you and again, beautiful story, pictures and thank you for the pattern. I am a single woman with no children, and I am not a knitter per say, but I can do simple stitches and would like to attempt to make this scarf. Again, thank you and keep doing what you are doing :o)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

