Snow in mid-October

October 13, 2006 at 2:29 pm | Posted in country living, family, food, free knitting patterns, knitting, recipes, yarn | 9 Comments

Fireflys Willow in the Snow in OctoberIt started snowing yesterday afternoon at about four, but it didn’t stick much at all. It snowed more last night and during the night, again not sticking. But this morning it started snowing again while it was still dark out and it did begin to stick. The power flicked on and off several times and our Internet connection left us completely for many hours. It on right now, and the sun is actually coming and going. We got a few inches of snow, and it is out there melting quickly.

I have been out on three photo journeys this morning, taken the Beagle out for a couple of yard runs, washed dishes, made a big pot of extra special lentil soup, cooked some rice, and made a loaf of pumpkin walnut bread … it is baking at this very moment.

Fireflys Barn with Snow in Mid OctoberI wanted to take a minute while the snow is interrupted to write a brief blog. I will be back to my regular blog on Monday morning complete with recipes for today’s cooking because I think you would enjoy trying them out when winter arrives wherever you are. The smell of the soup is everywhere in the house, and the wonderful smell of baking pumpkin bread is beginning to mingle with it. The world outdoors is wonderful and glorious as bright white snow is lit up by sunshine against a background of dark and threatening clouds beyond. The trees are still bedecked in brilliant autumn colors, creating an amazing contrast with the colors of winter brought on by this early snow.

My husband came home from work several hours early, because they lost power. So, I will go join him in the living room and do some knitting while he reads the paper. It is a beautiful world.

Talk to you soon,

~firefly

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thank you for the lovely photos! It’s chilly here in Washington DC, but not cold enough for snow!

  2. I love your pics! I like seeing your barn as sunlight and weather affects it. You know, it would be so awesome to see regular pics of the barn at different times of the year! Day, night… 🙂 Stay warm and cozy!

  3. The snow looks glorious. Here in our part of Texas we have very little snow. When it does snow enough to stand and turn our world white, the camera comes out and everyone oohs and ahhs. This happens (perhaps!) every 10 years or so..

  4. That sounds wonderful. I needed a little bit of serenity today. Be sure to post the pumpkin bread recipe.

  5. Very pretty. I love the smell of soup and brown bread going through the house. I’ll have to try pumpkin bread one of these times and see how that smells.

  6. Mmmm…my family loves pumpkin bread. I will be interested to see your recipe…I’ve only ever seen/used one, which was given to me at my bridal shower (my mom passed out recipe cards to the guests beforehand and asked them to share a favorite recipe). I’ve been working on learning the art of soups in the last year or so, so I’ll be looking forward to that one as well. Speaking of which, I love the biscuit recipe!

    Ah, snow. I’m hoping to go up into the high country of AZ next weekend to see the fall colors. If I’m lucky, I’ll see snow, but more likely I’ll just be enjoying the cooler temps and the beautiful forest. I’m getting a GPS for my birthday and I’m wanting to use it to go geocaching up there.

  7. I love the snow pics! I love to watch the snow falling, especially at night under the street lights. I don’t particularly care for the snow though – yet I’m living in Canada (it hasn’t started snowing here yet thankfully).

  8. When I woke up this morning, I was listening to NPR talk about the huge amount of snow that is hitting other parts of the country. I was lamenting the fact that, now that I live in the bay area, I will probably never again wake to surpise snow on the ground. Thanks for sharing your with us.

  9. The snow looks so beautiful. I’m looking forward to seeing your lentil soup recipe, I make a nice red lentil and tomato soup recipe, if you’re interested.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

