I think he’s pretty

January 22, 2007 at 3:41 pm | Posted in Christmas, country living, faith, family, free knitting patterns, knitting, marriage, photography, scarf patterns, yarn | 16 Comments

Fireflys Snow Barn in January

Snowing, snowing, snowing. Yesterday morning it was six degrees when we got up … sweeeet!


I shot the photo of our barn from one of my bedroom windows. This photograph makes me feel as if I were flying when I took it. You know, like in one of those flying dreams. Sometimes I have flying dreams where I can just sort of fly straight up into the air and hover. This photograph is just what that would be like.

Firefly Finds This Horse to be Quite PrettyThe snow that began gathering about a week and a half ago is still here, and more is sifting down from the sky as I type. Last Sunday morning I was responding by email to comments people left on one of my blogs and as I typed I saw something larger than normal fall past the window. It was snowing lightly at the time, but something caught my eye. I kept typing, and a few more large objects went by the window. So I stopped to watch and see if I could catch sight of whatever it was. There were clumpy snowflakes falling here and there that looked more like small snowballs rather than snowflakes … and of course they were balls of snow. Soon they were falling rapidly. Being heavier than single snowflakes they fell straight down. It was very unusual and almost humorous to see, as if some giant were up there dropping them down, hoping to hit something interesting like an unsuspecting human or the like.

As it continued to snow and I continued to answer emails, horse-drawn Amish carriages began going by, on their way to their church services. There are quite a few Amish families living in our area, and every Sunday morning before we leave for church several Amish carriages go by. It is a quaint and charming sight, and one of the things I cherish about life here. I long to photograph them, but I withhold myself because I don’t want to intrude or treat them like an oddity. I hope they feel a sense of brotherly love as they go by our place, because it is here.

There He is AgainIn the winter their carriages are closed up tight, and you don’t see the people at all. Their horses are elegant and lean, beautifully dignified creatures. In the morning their gait is slow, as they are pulling the carriages uphill; one horse to a carriage. In the afternoon, however, as they go back home on a downward slope, they go prancing by, swift and full of energy.

In the spring and summer months they use open carriages, and I get to see the families as they go by. The boys and men wear straw hats and colorful shirts with blank pants and jackets. The women and girls wear bright and colorful dresses and aprons and pretty bonnets. The women are usually holding a baby in their arms, the children sometimes get to hang their legs off the back.

Last week one afternoon when my husband came home from work we went on a drive to capture what moments we could on camera, when the snow was still fresh and clean. Not far down the road from our place I asked him to stop the car when I saw a group of cows standing all together on a small rise. Though snow covered the ground thick everywhere else, under the cows green grass was still visible. One lone cow stood off to the side … I had to wonder why. They were a bit curious as I stood by the road photographing them; I may have been the only interesting thing that had happened to them all day long.

Funny Snow Cows on Fireflys Photo DriveFurther along, we found a horse grazing by a fence near the road. I photographed him from the car. At first he was shy, keeping his head behind a fence post. I blew him kisses and told him I thought he was very pretty, and then he put his head out front and gave me a nice pose. He stood there patiently, allowing me to snap several shots of him … and I do think he’s pretty.

Before returning home we stopped by our friend Dorothy’s house to check in on her husband; he had surgery last week and we wanted to pay them a personal visit. As we were leaving, they asked us to stop off in their barn and grab a bucket of apples to take home … which we did with gratitude. The people next to them had worked up some snowmen in their yard, and I found their poses and positioning to be very interesting.

Snow Men in Fireflys AreaI finished knitting my son’s scarf. I need to block it a bit and get it in the mail to him right away. He is going up to the mountains soon and the scarf will be needed there. I am also knitting up a blanket for his new puppy with leftover Lion’s brand Suede yarn from the nap blanket I made for my mother-in-law for Christmas. It will be a quick project because it will only be about two feet square. Photos and patterns for both the scarf and the puppy blanket will be available on my next blog.

I need to go heat up my tea and tend to some other matters. Hope you are enjoying whatever weather you have, and that you are sipping a nice cup of tea or coffee as you read.

Best to you and yours,

firefly

Copyright © 2006 J.L. Fleckenstein ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The Amish are such wonderful people. How lucky you are to have them in your area. When I was pregnant (19 years ago) with our daughter, Rebecca, my Mom and Dad went on a vacation to Lancaster. There they met up with a wonderful Amish family. They are still close friends to this day. They even hired a driver to take them to Florida so they could vacation with my parents! Although I’ve never met them face to face, I do write to their daughter who is about my age. And, believe it or not, I have spoken to them on the phone. Their order allows them to have a phone, although it’s not to be in their house – it’s in a little shed they built out from their house! Our daughter Rebecca shares the name of my Mom’s Amish friend, so they have always had a soft spot in their heart for her. They always sent Christmas goodies that they have made and once even sent Rebecca an Amish doll. I thought it was interesting that they put a face on it since Amish children don’t have faces on their baby dolls. Oh well, enough rambling. Have a great day and enjoy that snow!

  2. What a fantastic picture of the barn and it’s surroundings! Great photography! Thanks for your wonderful discription of the world around you!

    I’m glad the snow finally came your way.

    Mom

  3. Love LOVE the barn photo, and you are right – it feels like flying! The snow people are interesting, the one in the back looks like she’s trying to get a better look at you.

  4. I love the picture of the cows. Your barn picture looks like a painting. I thought maybe you and the Mr. had been up in a crop duster and you managed to get a good shot while you “buzzed” the house.

    Enjoy your winter.

  5. Our idea when we see all the cows together, save one, is that the lone cow is a sentry. See the cows are smarter than us. They are plotting a take over of the human world and they need the sentry cow to watch for us when they are having their planning sessions. No need for us to find out they are really smarter than us before it’s time to enact the plan. 8-]

  6. Hi Firefly,

    We finally got snow in Indianapolis! It was absolutely beautiful yesterday morning. One of my favorite things is to shovel the driveway…my husband and kids think I’m crazy but I love the serenity of it. I love to be the first one out in the morning there is something special about it. We have a puppy that hadn’t seen snow before and she loved it! She ran back and forth from one side of the yard to the other, poking her face in it from time to time. Of course my son was out on his snowboard, there really wasn’t enough to snowboard but he had a great time anyway. I’ve encourage him to take a look at your photos, he is in photography at school I thought it might give him an idea or two. The barn photo was wonderful! Thank you for sharing it with us. I grew up on a farm and live in the city now so I like seeing the cows and horses they remind me of my childhood. Thanks as always for sharing with us! It is always a delight!

    Ann

  7. Beautiful ‘snow’ pictures. I would love some yarn the colour of the horse!
    I like the dignity of the Amish and their wagons and customs!

  8. Beautiful pictures, I especially love the one of the barn, and the horse is pretty. Hot tea? Coffee? Right now I’d kill for a long cold drink of juice with lots of ice – the heat is killing us here! I love looking at the snow, it cools me down.

  9. A beautiful sight! Love that patch of green where the cows are standing:) I often dream of flying too! It’s a favorite! Enjoy your winter wonderland!

  10. The snow missed us and we got about 1/2 inch of ice. They were forecasting 1-3 inches of snow for NW Arkansas so I was extremely disappointed when we didn’t get any.

    Beautiful snow picutres. Love the snowman.

  11. I am indeed sipping coffee, with cream, (at work) sneaking a read of your blog this morning. I am jealous of you enjoying the snow. We have yet to have any in this part of Kentucky….I hope this is not a trend. I do enjoy a week’s worth of the white blanket. We got pretty excited at the prospect of 1-3 inches last week, that never happened. I guess I’ll have to enjoy through your eyes. That’s not hard to do. I love the photo of the horse….he is pretty and quite fuzzy and he looks as if he did pose for you….love it! ~ Have a nice day!

  12. What great pictures, I love the horse and the snowmen. Your pictures bring it to life.

  13. i am home in buffalo this week visiting mom and dad- we finally have snow!!! hallelujah!!! i am so happy i cannot tell you! i am so glad you are enjoying yours, and i continue to enjoy your pictures. my mom tells me she and her mother and sisters we driving in the fingerlakes region in fall and saw many beautiful amish carriages and even stands where you pay for jelly, jam, whatever based on the honor system- just a jar and you leave money in it. such a honest society…

  14. You are a wonderful photographer. Looking at your blog reminds me of my days living in Iowa – farms are all the rage in Iowa. 🙂 Now I live in the big, bad city and long for the days when I can go and visit a farm.

  15. Your blog is such a treat while I am at work. I am craving a little time in the country.

  16. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

