Where swans walk on water

February 1, 2007 at 4:29 pm | Posted in country living, dating, faith, family, free knitting patterns, Holidays, knitting, love, marriage, photography, relationships, romance, yarn | 14 Comments

Fireflys Swan on IceI left you hanging on a cliff this past Monday in the story of the day, the moment really, when my husband and I first met face-to-face.

It was my intention to write the next installment today, but the past couple of days I have been building a new website for my blog and expanded content. I’m tired, plum pooped and tired. Doing this much computer work for hours on end is hard on the back.

Will you please forgive me if I postpone the rest of that story until Monday when I am rested and not so pressed for time. It is an awfully good story and deserves better than what I can give today.

I can share with you this photo of a swan; the photo was taken by my husband at my request. We were on our way back from church and saw two swans out on the ice forming on the river a week ago or so. As you can see, this swan was standing on the ice. A beautiful creature, and I hope to capture photographs of the swans and their off spring as the new year progresses.

Talk to you Monday. Meanwhile, have a beautiful day and weekend.
~firefly

P.S. If you would like to check out the new I Live on a Farm website, here is the link.

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh, of course…your writing lends as much as the actual story does, so we want you at your best :).

    Wow…I love the website! I can’t wait to read your mother’s journal. I’ve always been fascinated by that time period and lifestyle, and have always regretted that I didn’t get a chance to get stories from my grandmother about that time before she passed away.

  2. wow, you’re expanding into an online magazine! that’s wonderful. 🙂 I can’t wait!

  3. I’m a patient person and I understand the brain fog that being tired gives you.

  4. Hey the new home website is GREAT – will you have a rss on it or just the blog page?

    can’t wait for the rest of the story!

  5. new site looks awesome…looking forward to reading more about your story and your mothers journal. thanks as always for sharing. hope you have a relaxing week-end. stay warm, our weather in indy for the week-end looks pretty cold.
    ann

  6. What a pretty bird the swan is. Just think, in spring, all the colors will be different and the swan will be swimming by with a family in tow. What a nice thought.

  7. oh, all right… I’ll wait… if I HAVE to…. 😉

  8. The picture of the swan is lovely, so serene. I’m happy to wait for the rest of the story. The website looks great too.

  9. Great new site, but will there be a rss-feed?
    I sure would like to keep track of when you have written new posts !!

  10. I’ll make sure there will still be an rss feed for my blog before I make any change that would affect that. Thanks for asking.

    Thanks also for the positive comments on the new site, each of you.

    ~firefly

  11. I guess we’ll just have to wait. Love the pic of the swan. New website is looking good.

  12. The new blog is beautiful. I love reading your writing, as it is not only interesting but makes me think some, too. And, of course I love the knitting content and photography!

  13. I enjoyed your swan photo. There are swans on the water/ice that we drive past near us in another part of NY State. They are magical. I saw the pair I usually watch Thursday when I drove up to the thrift shop at St. Luke’s. With the resevoir on the right of the road, which usually has its pair of resident swans, the inlet of the resevoir is on the left and that is where the pair of swans that I love to see reside. I wondered about them and the ice. The funny thing is that my husband and I each thought of that particular pair of swans as our own until one day we were both in the car on that route and realized we both watched the same swan couple. Swans usually mate for life, which is rather romantic. Kathleen

  14. The new site looks great, and I’m looking forward to your mother’s writing. Hope you had a restful weekend.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

