Suddenly

March 14, 2007 at 2:38 pm | Posted in country living, faith, family, free knitting patterns, gifts, knitting, love, marriage, photography, relationships, romance, yarn | 18 Comments

Suddenly Spring at Fireflys FarmLast night we stood on the bank of the river and watched as it changed from a lovely, snow blanketed frozen passageway back to moving, rushing, breathing thing of life.

Today it is suddenly all river again. It happened so quickly, so precisely  we could see the rapid progression as it was occurring.

Today, though there are a few stubborn patches of snow in our neighbor’s field and a bit out in the corn field,  all around our house and barn the snow is completely gone.

Suddenly Spring at Fireflys FarmThe weekend before last one of our gutters broke off of the house, taking a bit of siding with it. Now there is a temporary hole exposed, leading right up into the roof over the area where I write. The past two days there has been a very industrious bird or two working vigorously to build a nest in there. Unfortunately my husband will have to flush the bird or birds out, away from the home they are working so diligently to create before he repairs the siding. Sad that all of their work will go to waste.

Tiny little flowers are already coming to life in our front yard, and bulbs have begun pushing their sturdy green stalks upward as well. I don’t recall what those flowers are from last year.

Last year.  It has been almost one year since I came to live here. What an amazing year it has been.

I have seen each and every season now on this farm, and so far they have each been most satisfying.

This year’s seasons will be the same but quite different, because that is how the seasons are. Much familiarity, but always something more than the last and something less than the last as well. Seasons are ripe with discovery for those subtle and not so subtle diferences and similarities.

Suddenly Spring at Fireflys FarmLast Sunday we went out into the barn; I have only been in the barn a handful of times. My husband took me upstairs to look at some terra cotta pots stored there. My oh my, there were quite a lot of terra cotta pots in various sizes to choose from. I may never need to purchase a flower pot again. They were here more than twenty years ago when he first come to live here, and they are wonderfully aged.

Spring is here, but we will have a bit more winter too.

It’s all good.

The river is rushing again and will continue to do so for many months ahead.

By the way, I have appreciated the positive feedback some of you have been leaving regarding the new Yarn Shop at I Live on a Farm dot com. I would be interested in knowing what kinds of yarns you would most like to find there. What brands you are looking for, particular fiber content, weight, colors, etc. Each week I will be going to my local yarn shop and making selections from their stock to photograph and offer in my online yarn store. So, the more information I am armed with for your needs, the better.

Must go now, spring is calling.

~firefly

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi Firefly… Love your blog. Read it all the time, though, don’t comment often… still always come back for more.

    I know you get a lot of this, but can only imagine living in the “real” country. My aunts live upstate NY, in Gloversville. Have you heard of it? Anyway, I am so happy for you.

    I can identify with your birds. A while ago, I found a spider diligently building a web that in a few short hours or so, would be torn apart… See, he had anchored it between a tree, a fence and a parked CAR. If you are interested, some pics are here: http://dragonmommie.wordpress.com/?s=spider

    I found myself thinking the same thing, and felt compelled to take pics, documenting her efforts. It was pretty dark, so the pictures don’t show everything, but the flash from the camera highlighted the spider nicely.

  2. Beautiful photo of the terra cotta pots! The light was perfect!

  3. those look like daffodils to my untrained city eyes LOL.

    Cheers Eva

  4. The little white flowered plants are Galanthus more commonly known as Snowdrops. They are generally one of the first plants to pop up after the snow melts. This website will tell you more than you will want to know about the snowdrop … http://www.judyssnowdrops.co.uk/index.html
    The other plants do appear to be a member of the Narcissus family possibly a Daffodil. Interesting to see how far along your plants are the ground here is still quite frozen. Although spring officially arrives next month, we often have frost until the end of May. I rarely get to see any of the tulips, crocus and narcissi bloom in my garden, as they often become deer snacks. Great looking clay pots.

  5. Love the snow drops, we have them in our garden too. They are almost finished though.
    Enjoy the first signs of Spring.

  6. How can this be? You in UPSTATE New York have spring before me in New Jersey? Something is wrong with this picture. Though we had mid-70s today, by Friday it’s supposed to be snowing.

    March is indeed capricious!

  7. The only seasons in tropical countries like the Philippines are Summer and Monsoon (rainy season). It has been summer here in the Philippines starting March. And It’ll start to rain by June.

  8. Pretty Snowdrops.

    A pile of Terra Cotta pots is a real treasure. They really are the best thing for indoor starting and for keeping. They also take paint really well and can be dressed up beautifully to add colour and brightness to a green plant or for a pretty jar to hold DPN’s or small things. I have a really tall one holding my cooking/baking utensils on my kitchen counter.

  9. Wonderful pots, they look beautiful just as they are, but filling them with spring flowers would be divine too.

  10. The promise of spring sure looks nice there. I just love terra cotta pots!

  11. I think it would be nice to have local handpainted or handspun yarns from your region available at the shop. Could be tricky to find them, but experience tells me they exist everywhere. Maybe contact a regional spinning or knitting guild?

  12. Looking at the weather map, I bet you are getting more snow. I hope that does not hurt the little plants!

    Take care,

    Kay

  13. hi there! i love the clay pots, something about clay pots just gets me. i am a wierdo. i like them so much though! i hope the buds survive the storm we have been having…we had some daffodils actually in full bloom in central park on thursday and i am eager to see how they fared through the snow and ice. i am sure they are ok, spring flowers are sturdy and perssisent and very resiliant…i love that about them.

  14. Hard-to-find yarns are always good — handpainted, as someone suggested, but also luxury fibers — silk, alpaca, cashmere, even qiviut. Now, maybe I shouldn’t recommend the pricey yarns because maybe they wouldn’t sell, but I’m guessing they might….

  15. Hi Firefly: I am a new knitter and am trying to make the little bag for the washcloths, soap, etc. I am having a hard time joining and trying to figure out how to knit each row. Do you flip your work to get the knitted each row? Or do you knit one row and purl on the next row? Thank you – susan

  16. We watched another 12″ of snow fall yesterday….not likely I will see the heads of my spring friends until summer……

  17. Firefly, the promise of Spring in New York State looks so pretty. I love your yarn shop. Somtimes give me a hint at what would look good made with this yarn. Like the baby wash cloths. I can feel God in your work and see him in your pictures. take care and keep the beautiful work coming.
    Love and Peace, Judy, Mech.Va.

  18. spring looks much nicer in upstate new york than back here in ol’ southern california!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

