Bronchitis Friday

November 30, 2007 at 4:16 pm | Posted in art, Christmas, country life, country living, faith, family, flowers, food, free knitting patterns, gifts, Holidays, knitting, love, marriage, photography, relationships, romance, scarf patterns, Thanksgiving, yarn | 15 Comments

Tiny WreathYes, my cold turned ugly. Monday my doctor told me I had bronchitis and he put me on antibiotics. I am feeling better now, but not completely out of the woods as yet. The Cold of ’07 has been quite a bugger for my husband and I both; he is still coughing now and then, although fortunately his did not go the bronchitis route.

Of course, I can be optimistic and look on the bright side … at least The Cold struck mid-November rather than mid-December. Somehow it seems more favorable to be ill over Thanksgiving than Christmas. It gives you this rather odd thing to be thankful for, the the cloud and fog of a muddled, cold besmitten mind.

The Thanksgiving Scene for the ThistleoniansFor those of you who enjoyed the Thanksgiving card I posted last week, I offer a bit more information. My daughter is the creator of the table and bench, and the overall concept of Thistleonians working together on a wreath at a table. She was keeping me company one afternoon as I worked on Thistleonians and mini willow wreaths, and was inspired to create the scene you see in that photo.

She made the table and bench tops from a couple of the antique barn wood scraps I gathered in our yard over the course of the past year. The legs for both were made from the stems of dried grasses we had on hand; she glued a tiny willow wreath and some dried flowers on the tabletop. My husband had the idea of filling acorn top “bowls” with seeds and berries and she incorporated that idea beautifully. I contributed the two Thistleonian artists to the scene.

Detail shot of Thistleonian Thanksgiving sceneWe used this heartwarming setting in our Thanksgiving centerpiece, lit by nearby tea candles. Now I want to create a Thistleonian Christmas village with her help. Oh, what fun.

In spite of being ill, I have worked out a deal with our favorite local restaurant to create a series of paintings that will be on display there. These paintings will range in size from 18″ x 24″ to a very large one that will be 19″ x 50″. The large painting will be a permanent fixture at the restaurant, whereas the others will be available for purchase by patrons.

I will tell more as the project goes along, and will share photos as well as the details of the restaurant name and location. If you are anywhere in the Western New York area, you will want to eat at this particular restaurant because the chef is this amazing, talented young man who grew up in these parts but studied and worked as a chef in New York City. His restaurant is beautiful, the food is fantastic, and we feel incredibly fortunate to have such a dining choice in one of our nearby villages. The fact that I will have paintings hanging there delights me no end and I look forward to telling you more as things progress.

More on Monday …

~firefly

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hope you are feeling better, it went through our whole fmily. I love the postcard

  2. I am so sorry you’ve both been so ill and that you poor thing have come down with bronchitis that is horrible!!! I really hope you get better soon.

    The postcard is just lovely – you should mass print/sell them…create a series of them, they are beautiful! What a creative family you are!

  3. Hope you feel better soon, bronchitis is terrible!

  4. Sorry it turned to bronchitis 😦 Good thing you went to the doctor. I think I am getting over my cold, but it has been hanging on for so long. Let the fussing for the holiday go and rest. Lots of sleep and tea. Of course I adore the thistle guys! I still think you should write a book and use the thistle family for illustrations. Curl up with a good book under a quilt and drink a cup of tea. I am reading the Sunday Philosophy Club by Alexander McCall Smith. Feel better soon.

  5. Hi, Firefly… I’m coming out of lurkdom to say that I hope you feel better soon! I also want to tell you that your blog is one of my favorites, and I love your patterns, too. I recently made your NY Hat, and my hubby absolutely loves it (was for him). Keep on creating!

  6. Just when you think a winter cold is the worst thing that could happen–it gets worse. I hope you are much improved soon! Isn’t it a joy to work with your daughter on projects! Whenever my DD and I work together in the kitchen or on a project, I get that “My cup runneth over” feeling. We are blessed!

  7. It is so horrid when colds turn to bronchitis but the antibiotics should help you to feel better soon, thank goodness! I really love your little Thistleonians. They remind me of Tasha Tudor’s illustrations of Corgiville, somehow, so sweet and more to see every time you look at them!

  8. Hope you are soon over the snotty nose kid syndrome and on the mend! This time of year is not the best time to try and get well. With so many projects to accomplish and stamina on the low side please get well soon!

  9. A bad cold, but you seem to have maintained a happy state of mind, which has served you and your daughter well: The Thistleonians at creative play are most endearing and I am looking forward to the Christmas scene. I think a postcard of the wreath makers would sell… I would love to buy one. I hope you are all better soon.

  10. So sorry I haven’t been by in a while. Have still been reading though, and, as always, love your writing. Hope you are feeling tip top soon!!

    PS Its nice that you and your daughter can share in such creative pursuits…well done!

  11. Oh dear! Hot tea and honey for you! those little mice look like they would help you get better. I love you rblog, thanks for the free knitting patterns!

  12. Hello Firefly,
    Well, a few days have past since your post…are you feeling better? I hope so! I’m so sorry you’ve been sick. I see your daughter is just as talented as you are! I can’t wait to see the Christmas village. Talk with you soon! And feel better soon! Ann

  13. Sorry to hear your cold ended up with you having bronchitis. Something I’m very familiar with, although I’ve been very healthy the last few years. Even after you begin to feel better, be careful — it’s easy to relapse. I love the scene at the table you created. So lovely!

  14. You are going to reach 500,000 hits on your blog this week. What an achievement and tribute to your fine writing.

  15. Hoho~ Very nice things you got.

    From an asian’s point of view, everything seems interesting.

    Scope.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

