Inspired design concepts

April 1, 2008 at 6:10 pm | Posted in country life, country living, family, knitting, love, marriage, photography, relationships, romance, yarn | 29 Comments

Fireflys hand knit Tractor Cozy free patternWhen the big snow hit our area back in March with two feet of snow, my husband had to get out on his tractor with the snow blower attachment on it and work for a few hours clearing our long circular driveway, a path from the barn to the garage, a sweeping drive-up space in front of our mailbox, the front walk way, and both ends of our driveway where the village’s snow plows left large piles from their work. He did all of this in spite of the fact that he had just come down with the flu.

I was outside shooting some photographs while he was driving the tractor and I had this inspired idea … why not knit a cozy for the tractor, much like a tea cozy … only a wee bit larger.

Some thirty skeins of yarn later, the tractor cozy is complete and I am ready to show off my hard work and ingenuity with you, my faithful reader. In fact, this knitting pattern is so fun and enjoyable to work up I am going to share pattern with my readers for free.

I call my design the Stow-and-Blow Easy Ride Tractor cozy. The idea is that my husband (or yours) can use the Tractor Cozy while snow blowing to keep both the tractor and the man cozy and warm. Notice the handy pompom on top. Well, that serves not only a decorative purpose but a practical one as well because it shields him from blowing snow as he works. The Cozy may also be used to keep the tractor cozy and warm when not in use over the cold months of late fall and winter.

The yarn I used was Bulk-it-Up, Super-Duper Extra Chunky Nylon Farm yarn in the Ain’t That Orange colorway. I picked mine up from the discount bin at Tractor Supply for $1.00 per skein (I used 32 skeins). To make the work go extra fast I used size U.S. 35 circular mega needles in the 72″ length.

This was a highly enjoyable project, as my husband and I cuddled under the mammoth fabric as I brought the cozy to life. Of course the best reward was when he set off outside to take care of the snow after another storm and I knew he would be safe as he worked beneath the cozy loving protection of his Easy Ride Tractor Cozy.

The free knitting pattern will be available within a few days, so be sure to check back.

Have a great day,

firefly

29 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I started giggling when I saw the picture and really laughed at the yarn name. I could just imagine you with the 72″ needles. What was that gauge again?

  2. This is so funny! I’m going to show it to Lily tomorrow and see if she believes you.

  3. I’m going to be giggling about this all evening!

  4. Now that’s love! The only man around with a tractor cozy. Does he know how lucky he is?

  5. I was thinking that a nice “John Deere” green and maybe a bright yellow pom pom would look great too! Hmmmm, I wonder if one could use PVC pipe for knitting needles?

  6. Yes, very lucky man. LMAO I LOVE it! πŸ™‚

  7. Too funny!!!!!

  8. Happy APril Fools Day to you too!!!

  9. well, you had me for 30 seconds… happy April!

  10. You should definitely put some of these on Etsy! :^)

  11. hehehe πŸ™‚

  12. What? only 30 skeins of yarn? Hmmm… to cover our new John Deere I can not fathom only using 30 skeins. Is your pattern adaptable by any chance?
    ;P
    Happy April 1st to you to!

  13. That would be Guinness book of world record material.

  14. Wow, the discount bin at the tractor supply–I missed that one for yarn bargains! This is just what I need to throw over my SUV to keep Cardinals from pecking at the mirrors and pooping on the sides of the car. Now if you could just help me figure out where to find a washing machine large enough to wash the bird poop out of it….

    Happy Spring Firefly!!

  15. Wow…have you been glued to the couch these many days?? What a nice thing to do however!! You are one motivated lady!!

  16. You posted this on April Fools Day and you expect us to think it’s real?

  17. I saw the picture (but didn’t notice the tractor) and then saw the 30 skeins of yarn and my eyes whipped back up to the picture! Too funny!

  18. I’m thinking this can be modified for Halloween…The great pumpkin! Trick or treat anyone?

  19. Too cute for words. If it were true I’d attempt the green and yellow for Hubby’s John Deere!

  20. Ohhhh, you almost had me there – almost! πŸ˜€

  21. that is amazing, even as an april fools day gag. How wonderful of you to bring smiles and laughs to us all.

  22. This is fabulous! I can’t wait to share this one with my knitting group!

  23. I’m still smiling πŸ™‚

  24. Yes, and during the summer months it also doubles as a childrens tent! Nice pattern work and color, goes good with ‘snow white’! Very ingenious!
    Pammie

  25. It took an embarassingly close inspection to detect any photo doctoring…you are a card! Thanks for making me laugh πŸ™‚

  26. Hello, I am not sure if you will check up on these comments as this entry was written a month and a half ago, but I NEEDED to leave one. πŸ™‚

    I am a fibre artist living in rural Saskatchewan, and the other day I was thinking about the inherently feminine mystery of making cozies for everything that looks like it needs a little sprucing up. I myself have this urge often. I got to thinking about how I could juxtapose that with something masculine, when I looked outside and saw someone seeding in the field directly behind my house. Instantly I thought “tractor cozy”!

    When I did a search I found this and had a good laugh. Awesome!

  27. Well, nuts. I really believed that you knit the tractor cover! Although, I did think the picture looked a little fake. I believed this after spending the whole day in an elementary school with children saying things like “Mrs. Lewis, there’s a spider on your shoulder!”
    I am such a sucker!

    p.s. I didn’t believe thekids, not even once…..

    • That’s such a cute and funny April Fool’s story, and response to my silly blog. I’m happy to know that you thought I really did knit it, for a minute.

      Best to you,
      firefly

  28. I sent my friend in Maryland the picture — her husband is a preacher and they both will get a kick out of this!! Hope he doesn’t expect me to knit something for his snowblower! LOL

    If she doesn’t see the 1Apr2011 date I’ll be sure to let you know!

    Gentle as you go,
    Marny
    who loves a good story …


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

