The joy of reading

March 26, 2010 at 3:21 pm | Posted in baby, country life, faith, family, gifts, knitting, Life, love, Mother's Day, relationships, yarn | 51 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Of all of my memories of school as a small child, all things related to books and reading and being read to are some of the richest in my treasure chest.

I loved paper, the sound of a library book with its heavy plastic protective cover closing with a soft yet decisive thud, and carrying a stack of books to the librarian’s desk with my mother by my side getting ready for summer reading.

I remember certain books with peculiar clarity such as Danny and the Dinosaur, those little Dick and Jane books, and Harold and the Purple Crayon.

The Story of Doctor Dolittle was especially dear to me, for when I read that book I created fantastically realistic, animated pictures in my imagination. Years later, even today, when I recall reading that story the pictures I created in my mind are more realistic to me than material world we all agree that we see.

For My Knitting Readers: I will not be having any more sales on my pattern downloads for the foreseeable future … well, that is after one that I am announcing right now. Sorry this is that last one, but at least you get this one last chance. Get two free knitting pattern downloads when you buy four (excludes “Three Scrumptious Christmas Stockings” combo pattern). Use code: LASTSALE at checkout when you shop at my website (not the Etsy store) between now and end of business on April 1, 2010.

Another vivid memory is that of our school librarian coming to our classroom to read aloud to us in first,  second and third grade. She was a very sweet older lady and I remember watching her throat as she read the stories because of the way her loose skin moved as she spoke the words. It was all a part of the experience, and I ate up every sensation I could discover related to books and reading.

Our granddaughter, Little Sweet Pea is one year old now, and during her first year her relationship with books was all about eating them. Not even the super heavy duty books meant for babies were safe from her little mouth and lightening fast little hands.  I love this photo of her with Dan (known affectionately in our home as “Dan The Hightway Patrol Man”–the initial caps being a very important characteristic of the pet name) with a book of nursery rhymes he gave her as a gift.

The attempt to eat and devour books changed suddently last week when I was reading a paperback (Sweater Quest: My Year of Knitting Dangerously by Adreinne Martini); it was a completely cool experience between Sweet Pea and I.

It all began when I had her in my lap while holding the paperback open with one hand and extending my arm fully out to keep the book out of her grasp should she lunge for it. She noticed that my head was turned in the direction of the book and that my eyes were intently focused on it. Leaning forward, she slowly and deliberately turned her head toward me and got her own eyes directly in the line in which mine were pointed. Then she just smiled at me. It was the sweetest moment, and so clever of her.

I realized we had a little opportunity right then and there for me to teach her something about what a book really is — not a giant teething biscuit, but something bigger and better with more long range potential. I showed her the cover and said, “book”. Then I opened the book and showed her the tiny printed words inside and said, “words” and gave a simple explanation that when she is a little bit older she will learn to look at words and know what they mean and that then she will be able to “hear” other people’s thoughts and stories and learn some cool stuff.

She opened her eyes wide and gave a look of new found appreciation for the thing called “book”. I closed the book again and showed her the cover, telling her the word for that as well. Then I pointed out the picture on the cover of balls of yarn and, pointing to each ball of yarn separately I said, “yarn, yarn, yarn,” etc. She was fascinated and pointed to each ball of yarn in turn.

As I continued to read the book over the next few days I would let her touch and hold it, examine the cover, look inside. She did not try to eat it, fling it, or mangle the pages. It was awesome to see the transformation in this one year old child on the subject of books: she learned to respect a book and treat it right and to let that book give her some of what it had to offer.

I think that is the thing with books, they have so much to give us. I love the feeling of excitement when standing in front of a well-stocked library shelf, knowing there is knowledge and enchantment ready for the picking in those beautiful, wonderfully bound treasures. Each book represents a little universe all its own, contained within the covers when the book is closed and dancing out magically on ethereal bands of thought and light when the cover is opened up.

A couple of nights ago I gave my daughter (Sweet Pea’s mommy) a break when little Sweet Pea was having a hard time with teething. In an effort to distract her from her worries I showed her a book my sister gave me one Mother’s Day many years ago. It is a smallish, but not tiny, picture book titled “Motherhood” and features a nice collection of mother and child shots in black and white of various wild and domestic animals. She and I looked through the first several pages together and I called out the various animal names, making a big dramatic deal of each one and laughing at any comical shots. We came to a page with a couple of shots of gorillas and I started slowly saying, “gor-i-lla” in a deep, funny and dramatic voice. Sweet Pea just loved that and came up with a funny squealing response to each of my “”gor-i-lla”s.

I returned her to her mommy, along with the book, and the two of them looked quite precious sitting together looking through the book. At one point Sweet Pea started trying to crawl inside the book, which gives you an idea just how much she liked it.

So now she gets something about what a book is, a bit of an idea of the treasures they hold inside. Over the coming year I plan to create a set of alphabet/phonics cards for her in watercolor. I have pictured the cards in my mind and am looking forward to the artistic aspect of it so very much. I will actually create a large watercolor painting featuring all of the letters of the alphabet and then use that to create the individual letter cards for teaching and learning phonics. You see, when Sweet Pea is a little more than two I will have the honor of teaching her phonics, as my daughter has graciously given me the task of teaching her to read. Oh, the fun we will have!

Being a grandmother rocks like nothing else has rocked before.

Now, back to Sweater Quest, I was given a copy of it by the publisher so that I could read it and review it for you, my reader.

It was an interesting read for me, because the author went on a quest to knit an item that I would not have any interest in knitting personally. However, the book is not so much about the sweater or even the knitting of the sweater. The story she weaves is really much more about knitters and the vast explosion of global community the Internet has opened up to we needle crafters who used to knit mostly in solitude or very tiny groups.  For me, her book is a celebration of the wonderful friendships and intricate web of knitting and fiber related community we are all so lucky to share online.

In her quest, Adrienne visits with and interviews some of the greater voices of knitting (among them Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, Kay Gardiner, and Ann Meador Shayne). I enjoyed learning more about who these ladies are, why they knit, etc. but spoken from outside of their own blogs, books, and speeches. I found it surprising and entertaining to think I was going to read a book about the knitting of a sweater and to go instead on a traveling adventure, visiting with thoughtful unpretentious knitting leaders on their turf.

Adrienne is a funny writer with that self-deprecating humor that has come to be the trademark of many contemporary knitting writers. She pulls off the humor well while also putting out an interesting bit of knitting history (Fair Isle knitting and Alice Starmore specifically) and, of course, the interviews I described above.

Not being a Fair Isle knitter, or even an aspiring Fair Isle knitter, I had never heard of Alice Starmore (you will learn about her in the book if you are also not familiar with the name). Now however, after reading Sweater Quest, I think I know more about her than I want to … no criticism of either Ms. Starmore or Adrienne Martini intended.

Next week I will interview Adrienne (Tuesday, March 30th) and will offer a write up of the interview on a subsequent blog.  As a fellow Western New York Knitter Blogger, I am looking forward to meeting her over the phone and learning more about her, then sharing that with you.

So you are aware, I have two brand new, fresh copies of Sweater Quest available as give-aways for any readers interested in trying for a win. If you don’t knit, you still might enjoy the book because it is written to serve both knitters and non-knitters with an interesting and entertaining read.

There are two steps to entering my drawing for the book, the first is optional, the second is not.

Adrienne, through her book, has begun a conversation about why it is that knitters knit. I think this conversation is worth expanding online to the broader knitting community.  My non-knitting readers might be interested in learning more about why it is that we do this thing called knitting.  So, my first request of you is that if you do knit, would you please leave a comment to this post stating why you knit.

Second, to be in the running for one of the two give-away copies of the book, please follow this link and follow the easy instructions (it will only take a moment, I promise).

You must enter the drawing by April 30, 2010.  I will hold a random drawing (using some kind of automatic random name generator) on or before May 10, 2010 and announce the winner on both this blog and The Knitting Blog shortly thereafter.

Hope you have a beautiful weekend!

~firefly

51 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I knit because I love yarn, organic yarn, and I just cannot resist hoarding it. So of course I have to do stuff with it… It’s a cosy activity for quiet chilly evenings, obviously, but I have also been known to knit in a heat wave because it’s a quiet activity and I get restless when I am not doing something. I like that i can be watching TV and still doing something constructive. No guilty conscience that way!

  2. Why DO I knit? Sometimes, when the hands are awkward and the directions don’t make sense, I wonder. Other times I know I knit because I love the fibers and the meditative quality of knitting. I suppose I knit because of the sense of fulfillment when I finish a project. Working on a challenging project keeps my brain young[er]! But mostly, I knit because I just love knitting!

  3. I knit for the pure pleasure of creating something from bits and pieces. Being about to say it is handmade is important to me – I got that from my mother and grandmother.

  4. I knit because there is something therapeutic about that soft yarn running through your fingers, across those needles and coming out in the form of something warm, soft, beautiful and wonderful.

  5. What a wonderful blog! Books and reading are such a wonderful part of the life adventure and you paint the picture so well. What a perfect picture of Dan with the book and Sweet Pea. The best of success with all the paintings for the show!

    Greatest love and respect to you and your family!

    Butterfly

  6. I knit because I find it relaxing. I also love the fact that you take string in wonderful different fiber content, weight and make something out of it. I take great satisfaction of wearing something I have knitted and then when I receive a compliment I say I made it and people are surprised. It is just a wonderful hobby that I never tire of or that grows old.

  7. After a diagnosis and further treatment for breast cancer, my doctor told me it was time for me to start living again. She told me to find a passion and to run with it. A short weekend visit with my best friend re-awakened my knitting know how from a young girl, when I saw the most beautiful basket of colored yarn and knitting needles on the floor next to her chair. Needless to say, knitting has gotten me through many rough patches and I consider it my best friend during long dark nights of worry/sleeplessness.

  8. Why do I knit? There are so many reasons. One is to see the look on DGS’s face when he realizes that I made him something new and it’s for him, nobody else.Another is so I can have the feel of the yarn in my hands and the warmth (usually) of what I’m making on my hands and legs. I love the quick to finish projects for the satisfaction of completing something — and the long-term projects for the enjoyment of genius patterns that take focus and concentration. I love the beauty of lace, the intricacy of cables, the humor of toys. (And I probably could continue for a few hours here….)

  9. Dear -firefly…

    I have never knitted and am sure I will not start now.

    But I greatly appreciate a “good read” which you consistently provide in your writings.

    I love the magical true tale you tell of your experiences with Sweet Pea! What a wonderful way to begin a child’s journey through a lifetime of capturing more and more truths and understandings of this wonderful universe all of us co-habit!

    Sweet Pea will, with these wonderful beginning opportunities provided by her Mom and her Grandma, build a lifetime of wonderful memories, skills, acquisitions of valuable knowledge and opportunities to live a rich, fulfilling life of flourishing and prospering!

    I marvel at such wonderful familial opportunities life can bring!

    Forward HO!

    Balladeer8

  10. I knit to relax and to make things for friends children or babies that are due. My husband never objected when I crocheted or knitted, he felt that I was not ignoring him – but he felt ignored when I read. My husband recently passed and I should pick up my needles but I am not ready yet, but I will get there.

    mary ann

    • Mary Ann~

      I’m sorry to hear about your recent loss. I hope that when you feel ready, knitting will bring you as much joy as it once did. In the meantime, some cyber hugs are coming your way!

      Sarah

    • I am sorry for your loss Mary Ann; I cannot imagine what must feel like. I am sure all of the readers here send you prayers and hugs. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and yourself with us.

  11. That sounds like just the kind of book I’d love. I love reading knitting books and am an inspiring fair isle knitter. I have knit over my life for various reasons, but the one right now is for therapy. I am the caretake for my husband who has kidney failure and his 85 year old legally blind mother who lives with us. Knitting is my sanity and helps me “get away” from everyday stuff!

  12. I started knitting because I watch a lot of television (and movies). This is probably not the reason most knitters have started. 🙂
    I was looking for a way to watch A LOT of TV and not be wasting my life. Now, I happily watch hours of TV and have blankets, hats, and bags to show for it. 🙂
    Knitting is a great outlet for my creativity. There is something amazing about knowing that if you designed it, there is nothing like it anywhere in the world. 🙂
    And the satisfaction of having made something is really addictive. 🙂

  13. Why do I knit? I like taking two sticks and a string and making something pretty out it. It is a major stress reliever and stops me from boredom munching.
    I live knitting, drinking a hot cup of tea and watching a good movie… in the summer it is ice tea. LOL.

  14. My Mother, bless her soul, was constantly trying to encourage me to set still long enough to knit, crochet, sew in otherwords accomplish handwork. For me there were other more interesting feats to accomplish, such as the huge fir tree in the yard.
    Alas, and much to my surprise alot of what she and my Grandmother tried to teach and I had thought long forgotten had actually, only been resting, snoozing, in the webs of my memory. In approximately 2004, after many, many years of lying still, I picked up my needles and refreshed what have now become the extensions of my own fingers.
    So why do I knit? In 2006, I was diagnosed with a cerebral aneurysm, for which I had surgery. After the surgery there remained a difficulty with counting and space evaluation. I feel very blessed by God that through knitting, other hand-work and folding origami my brain is now able to perform those once oh-so-confusing tasks.
    My Mother and Grandmother have long since passed, but I like to think that they know I have tended the roots they planted, which are now flourishing with vibrant creativity.
    Thank you Mom and Grandma.

  15. I knit because I like to make things with my hands. I like to create useful things, pretty things. I love the feel of yarn between my fingers and the sound of needles clinking together. I like the connection with the past — the knowledge that people have done this for hundreds of years, all around the world.

  16. I knit because I can. Simple as that. I learned to knit from my mom when I was 8 and have found it to be the most comforting form of creation I know. When my mom and husband were very ill, I could not concentrate on much of anything, but I knit through all of that. Knitting kept me calm and comforted. They are both gone now but the talent she taught me and the end results they both admired so are still with me. Knitting still comforts me.
    Darlene

  17. I knit to relax and unwind. I am self employed and I find it so relaxing to come in from work, pamper and play with my dogs for a few minutes then settle down with some knitting. We have a local yarn shop, however I rarely have time to go in and knit. I do enjoy the wonderful friends I have discovered at the Yarn Garden Knit Shop. I have especially enjoy J L Fleckenstein’s (firefly) patterns and appreciate so much the details she puts into her patterns. Nothing is more frustrating to purchase a pattern and than not understanding it. Thank you firefly, at I live on a a Farm.

    Susan

  18. I knit because, somehow, I have acquired lots and lots of yarn. LOL I belong to 2 or 3 charitable groups that use my knitting/crocheting skills in making afghans for our wounded warriors, chemo hats for cancer patients, squares for blankets for orphaned African children, items for fundraising bazaars, dolls for hospitalized children, etc., etc. It gives me great pleasure to see something I’ve made and know that someone will make good use of it. I try to occasionally make something for one of my grandchildren. And one of these days I’ll make something for myself!

  19. I once did a blog post about why I knit, which was really just me talking about a direct quote from Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, the Yarn Harlot. She put it into words much better than I would ever have been able to.

  20. I knit because it is very relaxing. I started learning to knit – socks – with a friend (who learned from her mother-in-law) years ago to keep my hands busy and to be able to do something while watching tv. I cannot imagine getting tired of knitting, and it’s always exciting to have produced such special items!

  21. I knit for a number of reasons, but I think the most important one is that it helps me to get over all my problems and get into a zen mode that transports me to another place and another frame of mind. I love color and fiber, so I was initially attracted to yarn for those reasons, but the actual process of knitting and creating something uniquely mine is such a blissful experience.

  22. I have been crocheting since childhood when my grandmother taught me – and knitting since college. Going to a knitting store is like getting flowers – a special treat to see all of the fibers. I love to knit for baby and have been knitting scarves for a mission at church.

  23. I knit because the soothing, repetitive motions keep me calm and my blood pressure low, and because the result is something practical and useful (and hopefully, pleasant to look at). I knit because the women in my family before me did, and I enjoy the link with earlier generations, as well as with the current family knitters.

  24. I knit for the simple joy. The texture of the pattern and yarn. The color of the yarn. The shape of the item. The movement of the needles.

  25. I just read ALL the comments, and it seems we are all connected by that common yarn! The meditative qualities and satisfaction in creating something warm and comfy, or flashy and bright, that knitting brings is there for all of us. It also gets me through long drives (when I am the passenger, not the driver!) and lots of football games. It even came through for me when I WAS the driver–I was stuck in a snowstorm in the Cascade mountains of Oregon for over 2 hours, but had my knitting with me and it made the time go by quite pleasantly, while other drivers around me were just becoming more agitated. I also spin, and there is nothing quite like preparing the wool, spinning and plying the yarn, and THEN making something wonderful from the needles. It’s as much a gift for me as it may be for the person who gets it. As one of my knitting heroes, Elizabeth Zimmerman, was fond of saying, “Knit on with confidence and hope, through all crises.”

  26. Why do I knit – well 2 reasons I guess. I actually LOVE knitting and the process of making something someone will love, whether that be me (I hardly knit for myself) or for others and seeing how much they love what I have created for them. Your new blog seems so nice and Miss Sweetpea has grown up so quickly hasnt she. I am glad she loves books, both of my children do too and they are both avid readers. Thanks for the email about your patterns too, I guess I must have gone to the esty to buy mine because the code didnt work, it kept saying I needed 6 items to get a discount and I only bought 4 patterns so it didnt work. Never mind because I have been meaning to buy your pattens for quite a while and now I have them to create too. They are really quite beautiful too. I am sure my mum will love the biscuit blanket and my sister would probably like one too. I like how you use a contrast color for the edging. Looking forward to reading more of your blog too.

  27. I knit because it is something that I enjoy doing. Making something unique for family members that will last for a long time makes it all worth while. My mother would knit when I was young and she would also crochet and my MIL could look at an object and crochet it without a pattern. I’m not that talented, but have learned many different aspects of knitting from the websites available. It can be very relaxing and frustrating at times as any knitter will attest to.

  28. I resurrected my love of knitting over a year ago that I had originally learned when I was a young teenager. I have been knitting my daughters (I have 7 of them)and 2 granddaughters scarves and I am delighted when I see them wearing my creations. I knit because I enjoy it and enjoy creating items with yarn. I find knitting therapeutic and I love to read and want to read Sweater Quest.

  29. Why do I knit? Knitting has become the most relaxing event to my day at times. I continue to knit because of the pleasure of creating something; my crafty side. I also receive serenity by the repetition of stitches creating a quiet place in my mind. I also knit because it is one of the greatest gifts given to me by a dear friend who passed away. When I knit, she enters my mind and that makes me smile.

  30. In my world, where so many things are out of my control, I knit because I am creating something out of the chaos of my yarn. I can follow a pattern or not; keep it or give it away; and there is such pleasure in every aspect of the process. It makes me happy.

  31. I have knitted since I taught myself from a book at age 7. My mother tried to teach me but I think she was knitting left-handed or up-side-down or something, so in frustration I got a book from McCall’s with large photos (I think we would call it a tutorial today) and from then on I was hooked on fiber. Not just knitting either. . .I am a spinner, weaver, crocheter, felter as well as a knitter. Anything with fiber! It has been a great adventure & one that can go on into advanced age. But now I have the best reason of all to knit. Her name is Elizabeth Claire & she is my ten-month-old grandbaby – just slightly younger than Sweet Pea! I love making outfits for her. Since they are tiny, I can afford a skein or two of the most luxurious fibers from which to make them. What a pleasure it is to sit with a cup of coffee, knitting & listening to audiobooks, visualizing how adorable Claire will look in what I am making for her.

  32. I knit because my Nanna first taught me when I was 11. With many breaks and jumps, I now knit because my Nanna died in 2003, and I wanted to keep that part of her with me. I crochet because my great grandmother showed me to crochet when I was 15, and I also like that connection. The structure and form of yarn turning into fabric fascinates me, and I hope never to come to the end of the yarn/needle/stitch pattern permutations out there.

  33. I knit because it soothes me, fascinates me and has held my interest through the years as nothing else has, or could. Knitting changes and evolves and I with it. It occasionally provokes intense frustration, sometimes helpless laughter. I can start simple or challenge myself to the point of insanity — in either case I can be incredibly pleased with and proud of the final product. Whether I’m in a ‘process’ or ‘product’ mood knitting totally engages me. And the colors, oh the colors, the myriad types of yarn and blends of fiber, endlessly fascinating! When my brain is totally pre-occupied/fried knitting calms. Knitting is endlessly practical, there is never a waste of yarn, nor time. It’s brought me global and local friendships, it builds community and careing. It’s shared and celebrated. It teaches and I learn. Knitting can be a bridge accross culture and time and enjoyed at any level. What else can encompass all that?

  34. I taught myself to knit in order to make wool soakers for my baby boy. That was almost 5 years ago. He no longer needs them 😉 But I continue to knit because the repetitive motion and sound of clicking needles soothes me and I fell in love with creating something wonderful with just 2 sticks and some string by using a varied combination of 2 stitches. Now when I give a gift that I’ve knit, I feel as though that person has my very most heartfelt wishes because I know that while I knit for them, I wish for them all the good things of this life be they simple or grandiose. I love the feel of fiber slipping through my fingers and it’s a selfish therapy for me.

  35. What a beautiful story about Little Sweet Pea, and how wonderful to start her with a knitting book!

  36. I knit because I’ve done it for half a century, almost as long as I’ve been reading; because after a day of teaching middle schoolers, it calms me; because I have too much yarn around (handspun and store-bought)not to; because sometimes my ADD verges on OCD and I can’t not knit; because there’s always just one more pattern repeat, one more inch, one more row; because there’s something healing, intricate, subliminal, metaphoric about pulling strands through loops to create a whole; because I love the feel of the resulting fabric, bunched up in my hands, against my face; because I need to.

  37. What a beautiful story! Hope that Sweet Pea is beginning a life long love of books. Thanks, too, for the review of this book – looks very interesting.

  38. OOPS! Forgot to say why I knit. Because it’s soothing, to feel those fabulous fibers (not often, budget won’t allow, but great when it happens). To enjoy the challenge of construction, stitches, new techniques, to get into the rhythm and let worries slip away.

  39. I have knit since a young girl, I knit whenever I can which is everynight, most lunchtimes and with different groups on weekends. I love to knit, I love to see my knits worn, I love the feeling of knitting for charities and I knit alot for charities, I love to knit for my grand-daughter. I can’t sit and do nothing with my hands so I knit. It is a great feeling watching something grow as you knit, I love the different fibres available that we can knit. But one of the most wonderful things is the beautiful people I meet in person or on blogs that knit, we share a common bond a deep bond that is far more than just knitting. I knit with the Kiama Knitters Guild (NSW Australia), Stitch N Bitch Wollongong, a few of us get together for our “Every second Tuesday Night Knitting” and we have started a Knitting In The Great Outdoors (KITGO) once a month in different parks around our local area.

  40. There are a number of reasons why I knit, the main one being that it helps me fight depression by giving me something to do for others. The majority of my knitting is for charity and members of my family. My mom taught me when I was very young and now that she is 96 and suffering for dementia, I use knitting with her as a way to draw her back into the present. She remembers that we make blankets for our church’s ministry to Asbury Storehouse and will talk about the infants that will be wrapped up in them.

  41. Why do I knit? I do a lot of business travel, so started knitting a couple of years ago to help pass the time in airports and airplanes instead of working all the time. That’s why I started. And I didn’t fall in love with knitting right away. I had a hard time learning and was constantly ripping out, as tinking eluded me. I fell in love with knitting after much blood, sweat, tears (and some naughty words). Now, knitting calms me, like no other thing. It is my meditation.

  42. In September 2006 I was diagnosed with thyroid cancer. The months of May thru September of that year I took a horrible drug to prepare my body for surgery to remove my thyroid due to nodules and Graves disease. After surgery I learned I had cancer. All this meant many many doctor visits. During this time I prayed like never before and quickly came to realize that I needed something to do besides think.

    A co-worker was a knitter and knitting was something I always wanted to learn to do. I learned embroidery and crocheting as a teenager but never mastered the art of knitting. Lora agreed to teach me to knit on our lunch breaks.

    During these lunch break lessons Lora and I knitted not only items with yarn but a friendship that has the coziness of a nice warm worn sweater and will last a lifetime. I have been knitting like crazy since.

    Lora and I actually started a knitting charity project together that she continues, as I subsequently was a victim of the economy and laid off and relocated to north Texas.

    Last fall I had a separate health issue that resulted in 52 days in the hospital and a severe fight for my life. About 40 days into this I requested my yarn and my needles. My brother told Lora of this request and she proudly announced “Sharon will be fine, if she wants to knit all is well in the world.”

    I find knitting a great reason to sit and think, if I have something serious to ponder then I shoot for something like a scarf to knit and if I want a challenge I try a pattern I think will be a good lesson.

  43. I started to knit because, as my mom likes to say, I was born a hundred years too late. (I’m 28) I enjoy the crafts and hobbies of yesteryear. I KEEP knitting because I love the clack of the needles, the soothing movements and creating something new. I’m all about homemade and hand-crafted!

  44. I knit because I find it very relaxing; it’s the kind of peace of mind that one has while working a jigsaw puzzle, or completing a rather difficult word puzzle. I’m sure it has something to do with endorphins, but that isn’t my interest, it’s just a very calming/relaxing hobby which has become an obsession over the years. It doesn’t actually matter ‘what’ I’m knitting, so much as it’s an opportunity to carve out a small bit of time and enjoy the moment. It’s tactile, it’s calming, it’s ‘almost Zen’!

  45. I knit because I love it…the feeling of the yarn slipping between my fingers, the feeling of creating something beautiful (or not so beautiful sometimes). It is a time I can sit back & escape into a world of my imagination and think about things. Knitting relaxes me..it’s a little bit of heaven that I give to myself. All the stress melts away. I love knitting & listening to an audiable book at the same time. It’s the best!!

  46. I knit because I must. My hands never struggled with learning how to hold knitting needles – in fact I started as a young child, four years old, using my fingers, knitting the wrong side backwards with my left hand. One day, in 1945, during a visit to an almost deserted village, I saw an old woman knitting with bona fide needles. What an eye-opener that day was! I searched for straight and sturdy twigs to use as needles. And I was so persistent in my quest for knitting that my mother, with the little money she had as a refugee, bought me a set of knitting needles and a crochet hook. That was 65 years ago almost to the day. I am still knitting and crocheting. It keeps my mind floating and on track at the same time. It is soothing my nerves, it helps me get “a hold” of things, cope with waiting rooms and bedside hours, it satisfies my creative urge and yearning for color, texture and the joy of making a beautiful thing.
    That is why I knit.

  47. I knit for many reasons, I love watching something grow as I am working. I love the soft feel of yarn through my fingers. I guess I have a tactile personality, so of course love to look at yarn, feel the yarn, (yes, I hold the skeins of yarn against my neck) and love the ongoing feeling of making something beautiful with yarn.

  48. For me knitting is fun and productive – it is not very often you find those two things together!

  49. I am thrilled to have a new post from you firefly!!!!! Missed checking in with your life and the beauty that you see it with! And of course you have been very busy with Sweet Pea! Fabulous to see her so big!
    (I am secretly hoping her mom is dating Dan, Dan the Patrol Man!!)

    I don’t need to be registered to win the book, just happy you are back and that your granddaughter is so healthy and vibrant!

    Keep writing- and photo taking- YOU WERE MISSED!
    Oh and I knit because its something to do with my hands when I am not in the mood to quilt- Oooh knitting heresy!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

