About wishing you a Merry Christmas

December 20, 2011 at 6:16 pm | Posted in Christmas, faith, family, Holidays, inspiration, Life, love, women | 14 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

The other day I stopped in at our favorite local apple grower’s roadside store to buy a few pounds of apples and some fresh pressed apple cider. After paying, the lady at the counter said, “Have a nice Christmas,” and I could see a little look of doubt in her eyes as if she wondered if it was okay to say “Christmas” to me. I smiled and said, “Merry Christmas!” She relaxed, smiled and said, “Merry Christmas! It is so hard to tell what to do say these days.”

In response I said, “Let’s not have our communication stifled by such negative considerations. Wishing people a Merry Christmas is a kind, good-natured thing to do.”

That is how I feel about it.

I wish you a Merry Christmas, because wishing you a Merry Christmas is to wish you a season of love and kindness. That is how I mean it. I do not mean to wish Christianity on you, and in saying it I am not saying I am a Christian. The fact is, you don’t know what my faith is (unless you are my immediate family) I don’t discuss it because that is my personal business, not yours. Just as your faith is your personal business, not mine.

But whether I am Christian or not, I wish a Merry Christmas to all of the people of the world.

To attempt to stifle people from wishing one another a Merry Christmas is to stifle well wishing and thoughts of love. Why do that, when love is what the world needs.

Yes, Christmas is particular within the Christian religion is a celebration of the birth of Jesus.

But people of any faith or no faith could enjoy a sense of the celebration of brotherly love for the good of mankind and acknowledge a heightened sense of love during this season was inspired by some guy named Jesus who lived back about 2,000 years ago — regardless what the significance of that guy is. Whether he was a prophet, the son of God, God himself, or just some guy … he said some cool stuff and the coolest thing he said was, “Hey guys, you really should stop all the hating and do some loving instead.”

And there was something very convincing about the way he said it, because his words impacted the way much of mankind has lived and regarded one another positively in a huge way and that impact has lasted for more than 2,000 years.

So, I say to you, Merry Christmas. I say this because I wish you well, I wish you love and a sense of peace. I wish these things for you and those you touch and those you love. I wish these things on you and yours today, and for this season, and I hope those feelings will last for as much of the coming year as you can possibly carry it on. I don’t know you personally, perhaps … but I wish you love.

That is all it is, and even if you take a stance of being offended by my wishes of a Merry Christmas to you and yours, I love you any way and wish you love and peace any way. I respect your beliefs, whatever they may be. And, I wish you love.

So, Merry Christmas!

Love,
firefly

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This is a wonderful sentiment! Merry Christmas right back to you!

  2. Well said…and to you and yours, I wish you, also, a wonderful, very merry Christmas. May the blessings of God be with you always.

    Love…..

    shirley

  3. Beautifully said and a very merry and joyous Christmas to you and your family. May this holiday bring you all of your wishes. Love and a big hug, Joan (P.S. I have only 4 more rows to knit to finish my blanket from the spring, knit along. Thank you for that pattern.)

  4. Jackie – a beautiful wish will never be turned away by someone gathered in faith, especially the faith of Our Lord. Many blessings to you and your family – I have so enjoyed your writings and artistic beauty …. (P.S. – how do you do the snow falling on your page … and I would like to order one of the biscuit blanket patterns from you.) Thank you for being one of my kindred spirits … life is a journey … we don’t always know the destination … but through faith, hope and love … our opportunities are endless. Love, Rita and family

    • Dear Rita,

      Thank you so much, for everything in your message. I hope you and your family have a beautiful, Merry Christmas that lasts, and lasts!

      The snow is a WordPress thing — they let you activate it if you want it and then it automatically comes on sometime in December and I think it ends by News Year’s day or something.

      Are you wanting the Biscuit Blanket pattern as a printed one I would send in the mail, or as an online download?

      Much love, Jackie

  5. Well said! Why should wishing someone a Merry Christmas be so controversial?? I’m not Jewish but if someone wished me a Happy Hanukkah I certainly wouldn’t mind. I’d accept the greeting in the spirit it was given even if I didn’t celebrate the holiday.

    Susan

    • Exactly … and be sure to read Marny’s comments here everyone. ~firefly

  6. I Wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas.

  7. Well said! Merry Christmas to your family as well.

  8. It would be nice if non-Jews would be as well-versed about Chanukah as we are about Christmas.

    HEALTHY and Happy Chanukah to All … and may the blessings of the 8-day holiday be enjoyed by all.

    Shalom.

    • Thank you Marny, and Happy Chanukah to you and to all as well. I always appreciate your insights and input into the conversation here. Love, firefly

  9. Something I wish more people knew:

    Question: Did Jesus celebrate Hanukkah?

    Answer: The answer is very straightforward. Hanukkah was celebrated during the time of Jesus. As a Jew, Jesus would certainly have celebrated Hanukkah. He would have observed the Hanukkah festival according to the laws and customs of his community. The festival would have been celebrated, at least, with the lighting of a Hanukkah lamp (or lamps – there is a debate in the Talmud whether one or more).

    My husband was not Jewish and loved lighting the Chanukah candles and learning all he could about Judaism, including learning how to speak and read Hebrew.

  10. And a very Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  11. Merry Christmas to you and your family.
    My first wife got me interested in your site and I love it. I myself am not a religeous man at all but am an american. This country is christain based which is A-ok by me. I think it is considerate of people to respect that. You do not need be christain to recognize Christ as other religions too. It is the warm wishthat you give is what matters. We all live in a Christain society so everyone must respect the beliefs. It does not mean to disrespect or not except other religions. This time of year we all need to think about others rather than ourselves. Please keep up the values you believe in and accept no other worries. I look forward to your posts . Merry Christmas to you and your family as to all that read this. Skeeter Tenley


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

