A case of kerfluffled mojo

March 23, 2007 at 2:35 pm | Posted in country living, faith, family, free knitting patterns, gifts, hat patterns, health, knitting, love, marriage, photography, relationships, romance, scarf patterns, yarn | 16 Comments

Fireflys Hand Knit Spring Hat is a BustThis is a photo of the current state of my new hand knit spring hat. I have knit it twice now to completion, only to be dissatisfied with the results. The second time it happened, I realized my mojo was kerfluffled.

We all have that happen from time to time. It has not happened to me in a while, but it did happen recently. The kerfluffled mojo was even disrupting my painting this week. Even my photography. As you can see from the photo, one of my little critters even tried to help me work things out, but all to no avail.

Kerfluffled mojo is something you don’t want to mess around with, if you can help it.

The good news is that once I realized my mojo had a problem, I sat down and had a cup of tea and took an honest look at what might be causing the disturbance. In reviewing some of my activities and decisions of late, I realized there was one area where the disturbance seemed to be coming from. You know how that goes, someone or something in your life changes and then subtle, unhappy occurrences begin to evolve. Little things you miss when they first start happening, but when you look back at it later you realize, “Ah, ha … it all makes sense now.”

I don’t want to get into the details of what kerfluffled my mojo, I just want to relate the fact that it happened. I realized the person or thing that changed that led to the kerfluffling, and realized my toe had wandered off onto a path that was not aligned properly with me, my spirit, my intentions, and dreams.

Then voila, I got my mojo back.

And then … I ripped the entire hat. Completely. All gone.

I am not going to remake it again, just so you know.

The problem is the yarn. It is lovely, soft, sweet yarn. But it is not in my opinion good yarn for a hat. It lacks a certain spring and body I want in a hat. It will make a lovely scarf, or a cuddly blanket. I think it would also be very nice for a loose fitting, comfotable sweater. Not for a hat though, not in my estimation.

Fireflys Knitting Critter Little NanaSo, I will turn the pile of yarn into a pretty scarf and the world will be right again.

By the way, my husband has given a name to my critters … Thistleonians. I like it. I love the Thistleonians quite a lot.

I asked the one in the photos on this page if she was ready to live in another home, to find new adventures. She says she is ready. Her name is Little Nana. She is up for auction and hopes to find a place in the home of one of my readers. She will bring you good luck.

As you can see, she knits with little finishing nails. Her tail is made of a little piece of grape vine from out by our barn; her hat is an acorn top sent to me by my good friend Lynne.

I hate to part with her, but it is time to give her some freedom to see someplace new on this Earth. It will be good for my mojo, and for hers.

Fireflys Happy SurpriseOne more thing about mojo … sometimes when mojo is in the right place, God graces you with the love and affection of a new puppy. We were graced this week. I will tell you more in the days ahead.

The world is right, and good, and beautiful, and sweet.

Take care of your mojo.

~firefly

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.